Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Want a simple way to understand strength training vs. cardio with your metabolism?

I even drew a couple of charts!

[Estimated reading time: 1 minute.]

[Estimated listening time of video: 1 minute.]

I’m going to be on my 1st podcast today. I’m excited about the opportunity to talk about Go Long, but a tad nervous as well. It’s called Stacy Connects, hosted by Stacy Heller. I’ll link to it once it’s been recorded, edited and released. Guess this means I need to minimize usage of the four-letter words that have been known to come out of my mouth on a regular basis. 🤦🏻‍♀️

Share Go Long


As I posted a couple of weeks ago, many people think of cardio as the best calorie burner when compared to strength training. I recorded a quick video (:54 seconds) to show the differences between the two. But if you can’t listen, I’ll give you a quick synopsis.

FACT: The more muscle you have, the more calories you burn. Even when sitting on the couch watching Netflix. Muscles need calories and, as a result, your metabolism increases to support your muscles. You can consume more to maintain your weight.

Cardio does not help you burn muscle. It doesn’t contribute to strengthening your bones, which is critical to preventing the onset of osteoporosis. It does burn fat…. while you are working out. But for the other 23+ hours of the day you are not working out, your body is not benefitting nearly as much as it would from resistance training.

Thanks for reading Go Long! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

FACT: Cardio lowers your metabolism, which translates into you needing to CUT BACK on what you consume in order to MAINTAIN your weight.

Finding a safe and effective strength training program is hard. Maybe you do not know the questions to ask to ensure what is the right fit for you. I can help. Get in touch.

Schedule A Free Call

0 Comments
Go Long
Go Long
Authors
Jill Consor Beck